At 60, Mulbagal seat receives highest number of nominations

At 60, Mulbagal seat receives highest number of nominations

An officer demonstrates the use of new-generation Mark-3 EVMs and VVPAT machines to chief electoral officer Sanjiv Kumar in Bengaluru on Wednesday. dh photo

Mulbagal has received the highest number of nominations for the elections.

The Election Commission (EC) has received 60 nominations from the SC reserved constituency. It has received 35 nominations in Varuna, 32 in Hubli-Dharwad Central and 30 in Raichur segments.

As usual, male contestants have outnumbered the female candidates. As per the information provided by the EC, of the total of 3,374 nominations received till April 24, only 259 are from female candidates as against 3,115 nominations filed by male candidates.

Of the 282 nominations filed from the BJP, 17 are female candidates, while 265 are male candidates. Of the 250 candidates from the Congress, 234 nominations are by male candidates and 16 by female candidates.

Till date, 1,673 independent candidates have filed nominations. Of this 90 are female candidates and 1,583 male.

A senior election commission officer said that this data may be updated on April 27, the last date to withdraw nominations.

'Mark-3 EVMs'

The Election Commission will introduce 'Mark-3,' an upgraded version of the electronic voting machine (EVM) for the Assembly polls on May 12. A total of 5,000 these machines will be used in various polling centres in Bengaluru city. These new generation machines, manufactured by the BEML, will be used for the first time in seven Assembly constituencies in the city.

“The Mark 2 EVMs which are available now have a capacity to fit four ballot units each, with 64 candidates. But the new EVM has a capacity to hold 24 ballot units, with 384 candidates. The Mark-3 version EVM will be used across the country during the 2019 general elections,” said Sanjiv Kumar, the chief electoral officer (CEO).

EC receives 1,363 plaints

The Election Commission has received 1,363 complaints on its portal ‘Samadhan’.

“Out of the 1,363 complaints registered throughout the state, 180 (13.2%) were filed by political parties. Out of these, 34 were filed by BJP against Congress and nine complaints were filed by the Congress against BJP,” said Sanjiv Kumar.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily