Bellary DC Biswas transferred

Bellary DC Biswas transferred

The State government on Saturday transferred eight IAS officers, including Deputy Com­m­issioner (DC) of Bellary Amlan Aditya Biswas. He has been appointed the Regional Commissioner of Gulbarga.

For the last two years, he had held additional charge as regional commissioner.

He has been the DC of Bellary for the last three years and two months.

He was posted to Bellary when the BJP was in power.

When illegal mining had brought disgrace to the party in power, to salvage its image, it had posted Biswas. He took the powerful mining lobby head on.

His hawkish eyes on electoral malpractices had created problems for many politicians in the district. 

Sameer Shukla, who was the DC of Dharwad district, is the new Bellary DC.

Biswas had become a nightmare for Janardhana Reddy and his associates who were involved in illegal mining. After the arrest of Reddy by CBI in 2011, the associates of Reddy had requested the then chief minister D V Sadananda Gowda to transfer Biswas out of Bellary.

Biswas is an invitee member of the Supreme Court-appointed Central Empowered Committee (CEC).

A letter from the CEC to the government had barred the transfer of the DC and Superintendent of Police from 2011 till the probe on illegal mining is completed.

The probe is still on.

Biswas told Deccan Herald that he had to work like an obedient servant wherever the government posted him. “I could do some work in Bellary, because I had a good team,” he said.

Asked whether he would continue to be on the CEC panel, he said, “I do not know. It is better for the DC of the district to be on the panel as monitoring would be easier.”

The transfer of IAS officers has been effected, in spite of the ongoing process of elections to the Council from the teachers’ and graduates’ constituencies.

The transfers will not affect poll work, sources in the secretariat said.

Other IAS officers transferred and the postings are: Dr D S Vishwanath, Labour Commissioner, Bangalore; Tanushree Deb Barma, Director of Information Technology and Bio Technology department; Khushboo Goel Chowdhary, MD of Hubli Electricity Supply Company; P Rajendra Cholan, DC, Dharwad district; Rohini Sindhuri Dasari, CEO, Mandya Zilla Panchayat; S S Nakul, CEO, Bagalkot Zilla Panchayat.