14 independents file nominations in Chikkaballapur

14 independents file nominations in Chikkaballapur

No nominations were filed for the upcoming Assembly election on Saturday in the district except in Bagepalli.

In Bagepalli, however, a record 12 independent candidates field nominations on the day.
A lot of nominations were expected on Saturday, on the third day of filing of nominations.
However, it is learnt that a majority of the politicians and poll aspirants will be filing nominations between April 15 and April 17. Hence, most of the political workers and fans of the leaders didn’t undertaken any activity and were also in very few numbers at the party offices.

As on date, 14 nominations have been submitted — one each from Chikkaballapur and Gauribidanur and 12 from Bagepalli, all by independents.

Though on behalf of incumbent legislator M C Sudhakar, his proposer has filed the nomination in Chintamani, it has not been taken into consideration by the Election Commission.

However, till day not a single nomination has been filed by candidates in Shidlaghatta. Interestingly, even the current and former MLAs have not filed nominations.

Different situation

The situation is different in Kolar. The current MLA Varthur Prakash has filed nominations along with a former MLA and few others. But the situation in Chikkaballapur has drawn attention of many workers who are surprised by it.

It is learnt that some of the party workers were involved in preparations, as some of the aspirants were set to file papers on Monday. Some of the leaders wanted to come in a procession to file the nominations while some others opted for a simple way.
Among the independents, some of them are contesting the polls just to compete with the official candidates of the political parties.

Another fact that is hindering filing of nominations is some of the political parties are yet to declare their candidates for a few constituencies. As a result there is still confusion in some constituencies with regards to the candidature.

The political parties are not releasing list of candidates for some constituencies as there is intense fight for tickets among the aspirants.

In some of the constituencies there are more than three aspirants for a ticket. As a result selection of one aspirant naturally leads to rebellion from others leading to dissidence and even defection. Hence, parties are trudging the line carefully.

As maximum number of nominations are expected between April 15 and 17, tight police security will be provided in every constituency.

In order to avoid any untoward incident during the procession of candidates for submission of papers, tight security will be provided at Taluk Office or to the entire town. Police officers assured that no untoward incident would occur.

Who is CB Pur Cong candidate?

There is till confusion as to who is the Congress candidate from Chikkaballapur Assembly constituency.

Interestingly, ticket aspirants M Anjanappa and Dr K Sudhakar both have claimed that they would get party ticket. However, it is not clear as to who has been selected by the party seniors.

Both Anjanappa and Sudhakar have lobbied intensely for the ticket with the High Command and State leaders.

The party workers, however, are eagerly waiting for their candidate.

*  No nominations filed
     in Shidlaghatta

*  No submissions from
current or former

*  More nominations to
     be filed between 
      April 15 and April 17

* Tight police security

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)