8 Indira canteens in Chikkamagaluru: Roshan Baig

8 Indira canteens in Chikkamagaluru: Roshan Baig

8 Indira canteens in Chikkamagaluru: Roshan Baig

Efforts are on to open Indira canteens in the district as well as taluk centres and permission has been granted to open eight canteens in the district, informed District-In-charge Minister R Roshan Baig.

Addressing a gathering after unfurling the national flag at the District Ground here on Friday, he said the canteens would be opened at Chikkamagaluru (two), Kadur, Tarikere, Koppa, Moodigere, N R Pura and Sringeri, wherein quality food will be available at affordable prices.

Stating that the state has been a model in providing drinking water to rural areas, he said that state government has opened 9,300 drinking water units wherein 1.5 crore people are getting pure drinking water for a very low price.

Stressing the need to respect every religion, he said that there should be no scope for communal violence. Calling upon the people to develop tolerance towards all religions, he appealed to the people to strive towards building communal harmony.

Noting that college students would get free laptops from this year, he said that pregnant women, as well as lactating mothers, have been provided with nutritional food free of cost at anganwadi centres. At the same time, Yashaswini scheme has been extended to urban areas as well, he added.

Recalling the schemes introduced by the state government for the welfare of the people - such as Annabhagya, Ksheerabhagya, Krishibhagya, Manaswini, Maithri, Vidyasiri, Ksheeradaare, Nirmalabhagya and Vasathibhagya among others, he said that the state government is striving for social justice, rural development and overall development of farmers and empowerment of women.

MLA C T Ravi presided over the programme while Jungle Lodges and Resorts Corporation chairman A N Mahesh, ZP president Chaithrashree, CMC president Shilpa Rajshekar, Taluk Panchayat president E R Mahesh, vice president Y G Suresh, ZP CEO C Satyabhama, SP K Annamalai and DC M K Srirangaiah among others were present.