C’magaluru to host ‘Dirt track’ race tomorrow

C’magaluru to host ‘Dirt track’ race tomorrow

Team 13 Chikkamagaluru racing and Orange Adventure Motor Sports Club will organise the ‘Dirt Race’, a race of motorbikes on June 24, organiser Almas Ahmed said.

Addressing reporters here on Friday, he said that the flagging off of the dirt race will be held at 9.30 am at the grounds closer to Chikkamagaluru coffee curing site at Kalyananagar bypass road.

MLC S L Bhoje Gowda, CMC member H D Thammaiah, Superintendent of Police K Annamalai, JD(S) leader B H Harish and others will take part.

“Up to 60 participants have enrolled for the race so far. There are racers from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Maharastra and other states. The safety measures are made mandatory for the competitors. Women bikers will also take part in the race and eight have registered already,” he informed.

The race would be held in 12 categories, including ‘Local boys’, ‘Novice’, ‘Intermediate’, ‘Four stroke’, ‘Two stroke’, ‘Expert-1’ and ‘Indian Open -1’.

The winners would take home cash prize and trophy. The best rider would get Rs 10,000 and best tuner will be presented with Rs 5,000.

Organisers Veerendra and Salman were present in the press meet.