Congress consolidates its hold in Chikkaballapur

Congress has emerged victorious in the zilla and taluk panchayat elections in the district and has secured absolute majority in four taluk panchayats.

While the party has managed to win 21 zilla panchayat constituencies, it has registered victory in 24 taluk panchayat constituencies. The JD(S), which was expected to give a tough competition, has to satisfy itself with five zilla panchayat and 22 taluk panchayat constituencies. The BJP has fared poor by winning one each seats of taluk and zilla panchayat. The CPM has to contend with one seat in ZP and six TP seats. Independents have secured five seats in taluk panchayat.

Voters have favoured Congress more this time compared to last term. A majority of the constituencies in the district are Congress bastion.

The Congress had considered the elections as a matter of prestige. The party legislators N H Shivashankara Reddy, Dr K Sudhakar and S N Subba Reddy made every effort to woo voters by visiting rural areas regularly. The party made all attempts to tackle internal bickerings and present a face of united party to the voters.

The induction of Dr M C Sudhakar, who had tasted defeat in the Assembly elections as an Independent to the Congress, added more strength to the party. He had joined Congress on some condition and it ended a cold war between himself and Lok Sabha member K H Muniyappa. It also led to a sort of political polarisation.

The JD(S) has fielded candidates on a part with Congress and has managed to increase its tally by two seats in the zilla panchayat.
Last time it had won from three constituencies. The party has won three seats in Shidlaghatta and managed to secure three seats in Chikkaballapur amid stiff competition. However, despite the influence wielded by its MLA J K Krishna Reddy, the party has not been able to open its account in Chintamani for zilla panchayat seats.
But, it has increased its tally from one to five seats in the taluk panchayat.
The performance of the party appears to below the expectation.

The party has not fared well in the polls. It had contested for 27 seats of the zilla panchayat and 88 seats of taluk panchayat. However, it had been able to win on each TP and ZP seat. It has not opened its account in any taluk except Gauribidanur.

Though the CPM had fielded its candidates in four taluks of Chikkaballapur district, it has been able to open its account in two taluks only - Bagepalli and Gudibande. The party had fielded 13 candidates for zilla panchayat and 34 for taluk panchayat elections. While it has managed to retain one seat in the zilla panchayath, it has suffered a huge set back in taluk panchayat.

The party was in power in Gudibande and Bagepalli taluk panchayat.
However, this time it has lost five seats in Bagepalli and two seats in Gudibande taluk panchayat.

Samajwadi Party, JD(U) and Karnataka Navodaya Party have failed to open account in the election.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)