First local body elections for Chikkaballapur district

Congress, JD(S) fight for supremacy in this poll

Various programmes taken up for the development of the district is yet to be materialised. The long pending demand to implement permanent irrigation project is yet to be fulfiled.

The new district of Chikkaballapur was carved out of Kolar district during the tenure of H D Kumarswamy as chief minister in  August 23, 2008. Chikkaballapur, Chintamani, Shidlaghatta, Gauribidnur, Bagepalli and Gudibade taluks form the part of the district.

In the initial days, JD(S) managed to bag Chikkaballapur taluk whereas Congress had its hold on the other taluks.

However, this time Congress has to face infighting in the party and also the challenges from the other political parties.

Alleging that Muniyappa’s supporters were being favoured for the ‘B’ forms, Legislators Dr M C Sudhakar has fielded his supporters in all the constituencies in Chintamani taluk as independents.

Congress may find it difficult to defeat JD(S) in Chikkaballapur taluk and CPI(M) in Bagepalli taluk. In Gauribidnur taluk, the BJP may pose challenge in few constituencies.


Legislator K B Bache Gowda has fielded candidates for all the seats in the Chikkaballapur taluk. JD(S) plans to ride on the waves of the state government’s failure and scams.

The BJP, which was able to secure one seat in the previous elections, is confident of securing all the seats in this election. It is planning to bank on the achievements of the state government. However, contrary to the BJP leaders belief, the chances for the BJP seems bleak.

Congress and CPI(M) are in direct fight in Bagepalli and Gudibande taluks. CPI(M) has fielded its candidates in these taluks. However, its leader G V Srirama Reddy had tasted defeat twice contesting against N Sampangi of Congress.

Comments (+)