For KJP local body polls testing ground : BSY

Former chief minister and Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) president B S Yeddyurappa on Saturday said forthcoming urban local body elections in the State will be the foundation for the party to spread its wings.

Addressing a gathering of party workers at the preliminary meeting in the city, Yeddyurappa said with the party having a tough task ahead, former minister Shobha Karandlaje is entrusted with the responsibility of leading the party in Mysore and Chamarajanagar districts.

Substantiating the new role of his muse, Yeddyurappa said Shobha Karandlaje has the experience of holding the reins of the district as in-charge minister.


What comes in handy for Shobha Karandlaje, according to Yeddyurappa is the former having a rapport with the leaders of the district. She has been instructed to select suitable candidates. It will also help party in assembly elections.

Yeddyurappa advised the aspirants for assembly ticket to work for the victory of nominees for the local body polls. Later, with the help of successful candidates of local body polls, the assembly aspirants should devise a strategy to ensure majority for the party.

Yeddyurappa exuded confidence that the party will get the symbol soon.
Taking a dig at opposition leader Siddaramaiah, without taking his name, Shobha Karandlaje said  when Yeddyurappa was the chief minister, he had announced a special package of Rs 100 crore for city corporations, besides Rs 10 crore and Rs five crore for other local bodies.

However, a tall leader from the district who had rose to the post of deputy chief minister and also held the finance portfolio, neglected the development of the district.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0