Mysore dist set for Lok Sabha polls

Mysore dist set for Lok Sabha polls

Mysore dist set for Lok Sabha polls

As many as 16,77,428 voters to exercise their franchise in April

Mysore district is all set for the upcoming Lok sabha (LS) Polls, which is scheduled on April 17. As soon the Election Model of Conduct came into effect on Wednesday morning, government hoardings and flexes across the city were removed immediately.

Mysore and Kodagu Lok Sabha constituency has eight Assembly constituencies in two districts: Madikeri and Virajapet in Kodagu district, and Mysore, Periyapatna, Hunsur, Chamundeshwari, Narasimharaja, Krishnaraja and Chamaraja constituencies in Mysore district. Except for some villages in Varuna constituency, T Narasipur, Nanjangud and H D Kote taluk come under Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha constituency, while K R Nagar taluk comes under Mandya Lok Sabha constituency.

16.77 lakh voters

Deputy Commissioner C Shikha said that Mysore-Kodagu constituency has 16.77 lakh voters and Mysore district alone has 22.17 voters. As many as 1,973 polling booths will be opened across the constituency. She also said that 1.16 lakh voters had been newly added to the voters list during the Assembly polls. 

Thereafter about 45,000 voters have enrolled. Altogether 2,675 polling booths will be opened in district, while 11 assistant election officers, and 15 nodal officers will be appointed for smooth conduct of the election.


In the LS polls held in the year 2009, the district recorded 58 per cent polling, which increased to 71 per cent during the Assembly elections, held recently. 

“We are hoping that the percentage will increase, and necessary arrangements have been made to stop any kind of illegal activities during the election,” she said. Special Election Squad team and video recording will be done at checkposts, to curb criminal activities.

Vehicles returned

As the poll code of conduct came into effect, the deputy commissioner directed all the associations, federations and organisation heads and officer bearers to return the government vehicles to the district administration.

Various flexes, hoardings bearing advertisements of the State government schemes, as well poster of ministers were removed across city and district. Civic workers were seen clearing the hoardings near Deputy Commissioner’s Office, Mini Vidhana Soudha, Taluk and Zilla Panchayat offices.

Nodal officers

Shikha also announced the names of district level officials appointed as the nodal officers for the different committees. ZP CEO was appointed as nodal officer for Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation Programme (SVEEP); followed by the commissioner of zone two, MCC for human resources; commissioner, zone three MCC for the management of ballot papers; deputy director agriculture for election training; Chief Administrative Officer, Cauvery Neeravari Nigam Limited for helpline and redressal of complaints; Additional Commissioner, MCC for the management of electronic voting machines; Director, urban development cell for the management of poll materials; Commissioner of zone six, MCC for transportation; Executive Officer, Mysore taluk panchayat for implementation of poll code of conduct; Deputy Director, department of Libraries for the management of poll observers; Chief Planning Officer, ZP for poll expenditure; Deputy Director of Information and publicity for media; Information officer, NIC, ZP for digitisation of the information.