No nominations filed for 11 GPs in Chikkamagaluru

Even on the last day, no nominations were filed towards Gram Panchayat elections in 11 Gram Panchayats in Chikkamagaluru.

Not a single nomination was filed towards the 114 seats of the 11 GPs in Chikkamagaluru, even on Monday, which was the last day of filing the nominations.

The people from 68 villages have been carrying out protests from the last 15 days. They had warned of boycotting the elections, if water was not supplied from Karagada Devikere lake to Belevadi lake.

As the elected representatives and the district administration failed to accelerate the work on the water supply, the villagers announced of boycotting the elections.
The project towards supplying water to the villages had taken up at a cost of Rs 13 croes, but was marred by inordinate delay.

As the protests carried out by the Karagada Yojane Horata Samithi turned out to be a success, the villagers celebrated by bursting crackers in front of Kalasapur Gram Panchayat.

K Thimmappa, a resident of Kalasapur said that the drining water is being supplied once in a month and the villagers have been shelling out as much as Rs 800 per tanker of water.

May have to migrate
He opined that the people may have to migrate to another place, if the same situation continues.

He asked why the villagers have to bother about the elections, when the Deputy Commissioner, MLA, MLC and MP are not bothered about the problems of villagers.
Tahsildar Shivegowda said that none in the six Gram Panchayats in Chikkamagaluru assembly constituency, submitted the nomination.

Hence, elections will not be held for these Gram Panchayats.  Kenchikoppa villagers too boycott elections.

The evacuees of Bhadra backwaters too, boycotted the elections, after their demands for title deeds went in vain.

No nominations were submitted towards the nine seats.

Residents of Kenchikoppa, Kundur and Matadahalli vented their anger against the taluk administration, after staging protests in front of the taluk Panchayat.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0