Poor voter turnout for APMC elections in Mysuru district

The voting for elections to the Agriculture Produce Marketing Committees was peaceful across the district, on Monday.

The elections were held for farmers and traders constituencies for Mysuru, Nanjangud, T Narasipur, Hunsur, KR Nagar, Periyapatna and HD Kote APMCs. While Mysuru and Hunsur APMCs have 14 constituencies each, other taluks comprise 13 constituencies each.

Though the voting began at 8 am, many people turned up only after 10 am. Unlike other elections, APMC elections are limited to a section of the people, as only members are allowed to cast their vote.

The district administration had set up 855 polling booths across the district for a total of 7,01,353 voters to exercise their franchise.

In Nanjangud, only 23.4% voters exercised their franchise. As many as 152 polling centres were established across the taluk for 1,37,040 voters. In Hunsur, 28% of the voters cast their votes. The district administration had setup 95 polling centres across the taluk. Of 1,209 voters, only 34 exercised their franchise at Uddur Kaval polling station in the taluk. Of all, 31 men and three women cast their vote. In KR Nagar too, very less number of voters cast their votes.

In Periyapatna taluk, the voting was held for 11 posts of the farmers constituencies. Only 37.90% of the voters exercised their franchise. Of 81,785 voters, only 22,293 men and 9,087 women exercised their right. With 31.49% of voters casting their votes, Bettadapur polling station received the least voters.

In T Narasipur, 26.33% of voters turned up at the polling centres. Out of the total 95,699 voters, only 25,197 — 18,968 men and 6,229 women — voters cast their votes for the 11 seats. 

In Mysuru, 40.60% of the voters exercised their franchise. The taluk has a total 1,00,999 voters and only 41,002 voters cast their votes. HD Kote taluk, with 72,182 voters and 25,170 casting their votes, registered 35.63% voting.

Counting of votes
The counting of votes will be taken up on January 18 at the respective taluk headquarters. Two tables each for farmers and traders constituency have been allotted for counting. The counting of votes for Mysuru taluk will be held at government pre-university college for girls in People’s Park; Nanjangud taluk at government PU college, Ooty Road; Vidyodaya Education Institution, Convent Building, T Narasipur; and APMC in Hunsur.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)