Varthur, Srinivas Gowda may fight it out again in Kolar

Varthur, Srinivas Gowda may fight it out again in Kolar

List of candidates for Kolar constituency to be finalised in a week

All the major parties are finalising the list of contestants from various constituencies in the district. In Kolar Assembly constituency a stiff competition is expected between so far independent candidate Varthur Prakash and Srinivas Gowda of JD(S).

Varthur and Gowda have been competing with each other since 2008 and are at loggerheads from then.

JD(S) has finalised Srinivas Gowda as their candidate from Kolar. Varthur, an independent candidate, is known to have supported three different parties and now has become the district in charge minister after supporting BJP government. But it is not sure if he will contest as an independent or will join any party.

On the other hand, Srinivas Gowda was in Congress party. But he decided to leave Congress to join JD(S) due to animosity with Union Minister K H Muniyappa. Now, he has joined JD(S).

No other candidate has expressed willingness to contest from Kolar from JD(S) ticket. So, his candidature is sure for the Kolar Assembly elections.

But in reality, his popularity and confidence was proved wrong as in last year Assembly elections, he lost against Varthur Prakash with large margin. So, this time it is really a challenge for Gowda.

Varthur Prakash came to Kolar from the village Varthur from Bangalore Rural district. Initially, he was not welcomed. But he proved himself by winning the Assembly elections last year. Currently, he has many followers in the district. He is also supported by Kuruba community, one of the communities in majority in the district.


Congress hans not finalised its list of candidates. In Kolar, there are five ticket aspirants including district Congress committee president M L Anil Kumar, former minister Nisar Ahmed (earlier he was in JD(S), Member of Legislative Council Naseer Ahmed and former president of the Zilla Panchayat Jannaghatta V Venkatamuniyappa.

Congress is in search for a strong candidate, who can give a tough fight to Varthur and Gowda.

So, it is contemplating on selecting Naseer Ahmed, say sources from the party.


Infighting in BJP has cost them a lot and it is difficult for the party to give tough fight to other candidates.

According to sources, Deputy chief minister K S Eshwarappa had a meeting with BJP district Yuvamorcha president Omshakthi Chalapathi. Though it has not been announced officially, it is almost sure that he will get the ticket, say district unit leaders.

But, sources have also said that even Mohan Reddy, secretary of the National Yuvamorcha has asked for a ticket to contest from Kolar. Two relatives of Bangalore MLA Nandeesh Reddy and Shikshana Prakoshta district convener Pillappa are other aspirants from the constituency.

“If ticket is given to any outsider, they will leave the party of they lose elections. This will not help strengthening of the party. So, the leaders have decided to give ticket for locals who are in the party,” says BJP district unit president N Lakshmaiah.


Newly-formed Karnataka Janatha Party is clueless about the prospective candidates they can field.

Sources say that S N Sriram, the recently suspended president of the Kolar Urban Development Authority might get the chance to contest from KJP just because he is a fan of  B S Yeddyurappa. The party is also thinking of fielding a leader from the minority community.

Badava Shramika matthu Raithara (BSR) Congress is also yet to set foothold in the constituency. But M S Anand, who has been projected as the candidate of BSR Congress, is also making rounds in the constituency and organising meetings.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox