Hunsur girl wins prize for science model

Akshata, a first standard student of Talent School, Hunsur has bagged third place in the national-level BrainCafe budding scientist contest 2012 held at Mumbai recently, according to a press release.

Akshata seen with her prize winning model.

BrainCafe budding scientist contest is a national level hunt for scientific talent in students. A total of 49 students ranging from first standard to eighth showcased their innovative projects in the grand finale.

Participants were divided into four categories: Category A (first and second std), category B (third and fourth std), category C (fifth and sixth std) and category D (seventh and eighth std). It was the second year of the contest.

Last year there were 3,000 students enrolled acrosss country while it was 9,000 this year. The contest was conducted at school, zonal, state level and national level (grand finale). The finale witnessed participation from Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and NCR.

Akshata has bagged the prize in category A, presenting a project on ‘human respiratory system.’ Her simple, yet innovative model of respiratory mechanism of humans and utilisation of basic materials to build it by give a new dimension to the concept was unique, adds the release.

She is daughter of Swamegowda, a civil contractor and Pushpa. She had bagged first place in all the other levels conducted and secured third place in national level.

The projects of other students consisted of disaster management techniques, lifting water without electricity, creating light house, energy and water conservation and others.

The final contest was judged by panel of professionals including director of Nehru Planetarium Arvind Paranjpye, MD of Softexcel Consultancy Services Achyut Godbole and associate professor in Physics at Pillai Institute of Information technology Mahendra D Khandkar.

There were three prizes for each category. First prize winners of all categories won a trip to Japan, second prize was iPad and laptops for third prize.

Other winners of the national contest are: Apuroopa of Hyderbad, Achala Singh, Archa Menon, B Sarvjna Panvi of Rajamundry, V Kumar Abhiram, Mallika Manu of Vasai (Thane), Riddhi Nirmal Chhajad, S Shanthi Reddy of Hyderabad, Shreyansh Mehta, Ved Kiran Jain and Yash Vikas Mandlecha.

Comments (+)