No leave for Kodagu officials for 3 months: DC

Deputy Commissioner Annies Kanmani Joy speaks at a meeting held in Madikeri on Tuesday. Superintendent of Police Dr Suman D Pennekar and Zilla Panchayat CEO K Lakshmi Priya look on.

Deputy Commissioner Annies Kanmani Joy has ordered the district-level officers to be present at the district headquarters from June 1 to August 31 and not to take leave during the period.

The monsoon may enter the district any time from now and preparations should be made to manage situations, like landslides and flash floods, she told a meeting of nodal officers at her office on Tuesday.

In case of unavoidable circumstances, the officials may move out of the district centre with the deputy commissioner’s permission. The decision has come as a precautionary measure for the monsoon season in Kodagu.

She asked the Panchayat Raj and Public Works Departments to form separate taskforces and keep earth movers and jeeps ready, for emergency situations. Special attention should be given to rescue children in Anganwadis, schools and colleges. Doctors should work in shifts in relief centres and hospitals, she said. 

The deputy commissioner told the officials of The Fire and Emergency Services Department and Home Guards to submit a proposal to the district administration for the procurement of necessary materials.

“Emergency situations or any other damages occurring due to rain should be dealt with top most priority. The nodal officers-in-charge of 32 Gram Panchayats, identified as sensitive regions, should visit the villages of their respective jurisdiction to examine the situation”, Annies said and sought a report on the same, within a week.

She also directed the officers to submit the minutes of the meeting conducted at the subcommittee levels.

Superintendent of Police Dr Suman D Pennekar, Zilla Panchayat CEO K Lakshmi Priya, Assistant Commissioner T Javaregowda and Health and Family welfare officer Dr K Mohan were present.

Subcommittees formed 

Precaution and Displacement Committee: Superintendent of Police (Chairperson) – 94808 04901, Additional Deputy Commissioner (Member Secretary) – 82778 63436, Assistant Commissioner (member) - 97399 79309 and District Fire and Emergency Services Department officer – 94828 07203.

Search and Rescue Committee : Superintendent of Police (Chairperson) , Assistant Commissioner (Member Secretary), Zilla Panchayat deputy secretary - 94808 69001 and Urban Development Cell project director (member) – 98451 52053.

Compensation Management Committee: Zilla Panchayat CEO - 94808 69000 (Chairperson) and Food and Civil Supplies Department deputy director (Member secretary) - 98804 02453.

Food and Hygiene Committee: Zilla Panchayat CEO (Chairperson), Food and Civil Supplies Department deputy director (Member secretary), Madikeri Taluk Panchayat Executive officer – 94808 69110 and Somwarpet Taluk Panchayat executive officer - 94808 69105 (members). 

Relief Management Committee: Superintendent of Police (Chairperson), Assistant Commissioner (Member Secretary) - 97399 79309, PU Education Department Deputy Director -
94827 29570 and Tourism Department assistant director (members) - 96119 21927.

Health Committee: District Health and Family Welfare Department officer - 94498 43058.

Cattle Rescue Committee : Virajpet DCF (Chairman ) - 94565 48611, Animal Husbandry Department deputy director (Member Secretary) – 94487 20650, Wildlife Zone DCF - 94480 43636 and Social Forestry DCF (members) - 70229 48991.

Rehabilitation Committee: Assistant Commissioner (chairman) - 97399 79309, Agriculture Department deputy director (Member secretary)- 82779 61901, Agriculture Department joint director - 82779 31900 and Horticulture Department deputy director (members) – 82779 31901.

Taskforce Committee: DCF Madikeri - 94481 36646, CESC Executive Engineer - 9449 598601 and PWD executive engineer 9448 428821.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)