20 Sakhi polling booths in Chikkamagaluru

20 Sakhi polling booths in Chikkamagaluru

The polling personnel leave with the ballot unit and control unit from the mustering centre in Chikkamagaluru.

The election to Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency will be held on Thursday between 7 am and 6 pm. 

The district has 1,222 polling booths, with 319 sensitive and 191 hyper-sensitive polling booths. A total of 20 Sakhi polling booths have been set up in the district. 

As many as 5,400 polling personnel have been deployed for the smooth conduct of the polling process. About 4,500 police personnel and other paramilitary personnel have been deployed for security. 

The mustering process was held at IDSG College on Wednesday from 9.30 am to 3.30 pm. 

Addressing polling officials, Deputy Commissioner Dr Bagadi Gautham said, “The officials should function without any confusion. Any problem in the booth should be brought to the notice of the sector officer. If anyone tries to create disturbances, then it should be brought
to the notice of the police personnel immediately.” 

Central paramilitary personnel and DAR personnel have been deployed at Maoist affected areas. 

The district administration has already clamped Section 144 across the district. The entry of vehicles within a 200-metre radius of the polling booth is restricted. 

Hassan Lok Sabha constituency (Kadur Assembly segment comes under Hassan) has 16,51,391 voters while Udupi-Chikmagaluru Constituency has 15,13,231 voters.

Hassan Lok Sabha constituency has six candidates in the fray while Udupi-Chikmagaluru has 12 candidates.