Fate of 13 candidates in DK seat to be sealed today

Fate of 13 candidates in DK seat to be sealed today

Police personnel and paramilitary personnel at mustering centre at Canara College, Mangaluru, on Wednesday.

The fate of 13 candidates, who are in the fray in Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency, will be sealed on Thursday.

A total of 17,24,566 voters will decide the fate of the candidates. The district has 1,861 polling booths. As many as 102 transgenders have registered in electoral rolls, with Mangalore City South Assembly constituency accounting for highest of 58 persons while Sullia Assembly constituency has none.

Apart from BJP and Congress candidates, those from BSP, SDPI, Uthama Prajakeeya Party and Hindustan Janata Party are also trying their luck.

In addition, seven independent candidates are also contesting in the election.

Though the campaign ended on Tuesday evening, the political parties carried out the campaign through door-to-door visits even on Wednesday.

The district has 641 sensitive polling booths. Webcasting will be carried out from nine booths in Belthangady, 16 in Moodbidri, 19 in Mangalore City North, 10 in Mangalore City South, 14 in Mangaluru, 17 in Bantwal and 11 each in Puttur and Sullia Assembly segments.

Deputy Commissioner Sasikanth Senthil said to address the queries of the polling personnel, a help desk at Assistant Commissioner-level, Dispersal Centre, had been established.

Suitable arrangements for accommodation, furniture, food, drinking water and toilet along with electricity for the polling personnel have been made at polling booths.

“There is no need for anybody to panic with regard to issues concerning EVMs and VVPATs,” he said and cautioned that stringent action would be taken against those who try to create tension near polling stations. “Any kind of nonsense will not be tolerated,” he added.

Arrangements have also been made to supply food for staff deployed on election duty through mid-day meal workers. The staff will be provided food on the day of polling and dinner on the previous day of the polling, Senthil said.


A total of 8,920 polling officials have been deployed for the smooth conduct of the election in the constituency. Each polling booth will have a presiding officer, APRO (assistant presiding officer) and a polling officer, he said.

The political party agents will have to be present in the polling booths by 6 am on the polling day as mock polling would be conducted in their presence by casting 50 votes. The political parties are allowed to put up their help-desk at a distance of 200 metres from the polling station, Senthil said.


Elaborate security arrangements have been made ahead of polling. The Dakshina Kannada police have formed 102 sectors comprising DSPs, Circle police inspectors and police sub-inspectors. A total of 2,119 police personnel have been deployed for security. In addition, Central Paramilitary Forces and Indo Tibetan Border Police personnel have also been roped in.

The City Police Commissionerate has deployed two companies of Central Paramilitary Forces, eight platoons of KSRP and 12 parties of City Armed Reserve.

They are using the services of 1,500 police officers and other personnel.


Along with voters slip, the voters have to produce other documents to exercise their franchise.

The voters can produce EPIC or Aadhaar or 11 other identity cards identified by the Election Commission. They are a passport, driving licence, identity cards issued by the PSUs, bank/post office passbook with photograph, PAN card, health insurance smart card issued by the labour department, job cards, pension document with a photograph on it and identity cards issued for MLA, MLC and MP.

The polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm.