Kodagu DC lists damages caused by natural calamity

Kodagu DC lists damages caused by natural calamity

Lokayukta ADGP Murthy (centre) hairs a meeting at DC's office in Madikeri. DH photo

Deputy Commissioner P I Sreevidya said a total of 620 km road has been damaged due to landslides in Kodagu district.

She gave the details at a natural calamity compensation and rehabilitation meeting chaired by Lokayukta ADGP A N S Murthy at the DC’s office in the city on Thursday.

She informed the meeting that Madikeri-Kadamakal-Subrahmanya Road, Virajpet-Byndooru state highway -27, Madapura-Biligeri-Kiraganduru-Takeri-Hanagal Road, Somvarpet-Hanagal-Taltare Shettalli-Takeri-Garvale road and Konanuru-Makutta state highway -91 have been affected by severe landslides. The damaged roads have been repaired on temporary basis by placing sand bags to facilitate the movement of vehicles, the deputy commissioner said.

 “Huge losses have occurred in villages falling under 34 Gram Panchayats due to extensive rain. Lives of people and animals were lost. Houses and crops were damaged. Roads were severed,” she said.

Families, which have lost houses, have been provided a compensation of Rs 3,800 each, she added.

Sreevidya said that 51 relief centres were opened in the initial stage. Currently, 530 people are sheltered at seven relief centres, she said.

As many as 333 students were in the relief centres and 62 of them have been admitted to the nearest government schools and 177 have been admitted to private schools. The rest have been continuing studies at their respective schools, she gave the details.

A gaushala has been started at Jersy Tali Samvardhana Kendra  at Koodige. There is a stock of 10,000 kg fodder in the gaushala, she stated

She said that 4,257 electric poles and 339 transformers have been damaged in the district and all of them have been replaced.

Sites have been identified towards the construction of houseless families and the work will begin soon, the deputy commissioner said.

Superintendent of Police Suman D Pannekar, Zilla Panchayat CEO Lakshmipriya, Special Additional Deputy Commissioner Jagadish, assistant commissioner T Javaregowda and DySP Sundar Raj were present in the meeting.