Lok Sabha polls: 11 checkposts opened in Kodagu

Deputy Commissioner Annies Kanmani Joy speaks during a press conference in Madikeri on Wednesday. Zilla Panchayat CEO K Lakshmi Priya, Superintendent of Police Dr Suman D Pennekar and Additional Deputy Commissioner T Yogesh look on.

Deputy Commissioner Annies Kanmani Joy said that 11 checkposts have been opened in the district to keep a tight vigil on the vehicles entering the district.

Addressing reporters in Madikeri on Wednesday, she said that there are three inter-state checkposts in the district.

People are not allowed to transport cash exceeding Rs 50,000 and gifts exceeding a value of Rs 10,000. If more than Rs 10 lakh cash is found being transported in vehicles, an investigation will be conducted by the Income Tax Department.

Household items, liquor, illicit drugs and weapons transported in vehicles will be confiscated.

Assistant returning officers have been deputed to Madikeri and Virajpet Assembly constituencies. Two nodal officers are appointed for each Assembly constituency. As many as 41 sector officers and 14 flying squads have been constituted. There are 42 static surveillance teams.

Every candidate may spend up to Rs 70 lakh for election related expenditure. Two expenditure observers, two account teams and a video surveillance team will keep an eye on the expenditure of each candidate, said the deputy commissioner.

As many as 813 ballot units, 653 control units and 697 VVPAT machines have been kept in the strong room after verification. Awareness programmes are being held for voters, on the use of EVM and VVPAT machines.

The counting of votes of Kodagu-Mysuru Lok Sabha constituency will be held in Mysuru.

The voters can produce any of the 11 identity proofs recommended by the Election Commission of India to exercise their franchise. The proofs are: passport, driving license, service identity card issued by companies, bank or post office passbooks with photo, PAN card, smart card provided by NGR and NPR, employment guarantee card, health insurance smart card, pension document with photo or Aaadhar card.

There are 4,35,554 voters in the district and 7,080 young voters have been enrolled this time, said the deputy commissioner.

Zilla Panchayat CEO K Lakshmi Priya, Superintendent of Police Dr Suman Pennekar and Additional Deputy Commissioner T Yogesh were present in the press meet.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)