Vijaykumar is district coordination committee chief

Vijaykumar is district coordination committee chief

Congress-JD(S)-CPI District Coalition Committee president Dr D L Vijaykumar speaks during a press conference in Chikkamagaluru on Thursday. MLC S L Bojegowda, JD(S) district president Ranjan Ajith Kumar and CPI district convener H M Renukaradhya look on.

Just weeks ahead of the Parliamentary elections, a district coordination committee comprising of 11 members from Congress, JD(S) and CPI parties was set up.

District Congress Committee President Dr D L Vijaykumar was elected as the president of the committee.

Vijaykumar while addressing the media at a joint press conference organised on Thursday said that T D Rajegowda, B L Shankar, S M Nagaraj and Motamma from Congress, Legislative council deputy chairman S L Dharmegowda, MLC S L Bojegowda, H H Devraj, Ranjan Ajith Kumar and B B Ningaiah from JD(S) and H M Renukaradhya from CPI were the other members of the coordination committee.

JD(S) district president Ranjan Ajith Kumar said Congress-JD(S) coalition candidate Pramod Madhwaraj will participate in the election campaign in Tarikere, Lakkavalli, Lingadahalli, Shivani and Ajjampura on March 29. He will visit the district JD(S) office on March 20. Madhwaraj will later carry out campaigning in Mudigere, Banakal, Gonikbeedu, Vastare and Avati. A meeting of coalition party leaders will be chaired by him in Aldur in the evening, said Vijaykumar.

MLC S L Bojegowda said that there have been no incidents of communal violence in the coastal region under the present coalition government.

“We will seek votes from people on the basis of the achievements of the coalition government,” he added.

He also accused MP Shobha Karandlaje of failing to address the problems of the people in Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency.

AICC member B M Sandeep, APMC president Prakash, JD(S) leaders Chandrappa and M D Ramesh were present in the press meet.