All set for LS polls in Mysuru

All set for LS polls in Mysuru

Representative image

The District Election Office has made all preparations to conduct a free and fair Lok Sabha elections on April 18. The polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm on Thursday.

Addressing presspersons, here, Deputy Commissioner, also District Election Officer Abhiram G Sankar said, Mysore-Kodagu Lok Sabha segment has a total of 18,95,056 eligible voters. The election commission has established a total of 2,187 polling stations across the constituency. As many as 2,406 presiding officers, 4,812 assistant polling officers and 4,812 polling assistants have been deputed to conduct the elections.

As many as 5,084 ballot units, 2,671 control units and 2,712 voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPATs) units, will be used for the elections. Engineers of the Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL) will inspect the machines before the polling.

Magnifying glass

All polling stations will be equipped with magnifying glasses, wheelchairs, and ramps, to help senior and disabled citizens. Pick up and drop facility is available for needy voters, the DC said.

Sakhi, tribal booths

The officials have established 22 Sakhi polling stations and 11 tribal polling stations. Two polling booths in each Assembly constituency will be modeled as ‘Sakhi’ booths. The polling officials, including staff, will be women. The district, which has 12 Assembly segments, under Mysore-Kodagu and Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha will have a total of 24 pink polling stations, painted in pink concept.

Similarly, as many as 11 booths will be designed as huts in tribal hamlets. Three each in Periyapatna, Hunsur, Virajpet Assembly segments and two in Madikeri segment.

Mobile phones and cameras are banned inside the polling stations. No voter is allowed to take their gadgets inside the polling station.

Voter slip with ID card

The officials are issuing voter slips to newly enrolled voters and they will get the slips in a day or two, said the DC. He appealed to the voters to bring an identity card, such as driving license, Aadhar card, Passport, PAN, or bank passbook with a photograph. The voters with only voter slip will not be allowed to vote, he said.

Dry days

The district administration has declared dry days from April 15, 6 pm to April 18 midnight. The sale of liquor has been banned on all these days across the district. In addition, sales of liquor is banned at five km from Kerala border on April 23, on the day when Kerala goes for elections.


As per the direction of the Election Commission (EC), the political parties and the candidates should conclude their campaign 48 hours before the election concludes. The parties should close public campaigning at 6 pm on Tuesday. The door-to-door campaign can be carried out without much fanfare.


The process of EVM mustering will be held on Wednesday and the polling officials will leave for their respective polling centres at 6 am.

Following the voting process, all EVMs, VVPATs and control units will be stored in a strong room at Maharani’s College, in Paduvarahalli. Multilayered security will be arranged and CCTV cameras will be installed on the campus.