U Srinivas Mallya Award to be given to 4

U Srinivas Mallya Award to be given to 4

The U Srinivas Mallya Awards will be presented during a programme to be held at Town Hall on January 12 at 2 pm, said Mayor Bhaskar K Moily.

The awards will be presented to well-known Kannada writer Sara Aboobacker, Manohar Prasad (Journalism), Rev Hannibal R Cabral (community education) and Ramakrishna Ashram (social service), Moily, who is also the chairman of the three-member selection committee, told reporters on Thursday.

A special award, including a cash award of Rs one lakh, will be presented to Padma Bhushan awardee Prof B M Hegde, he added.

The awards, presented in memory of the undivided Dakshina Kannada’s architect U S Mallya, is in recognition of the contributions made by achievers to the society, he said and added that former chief minister M Veerappa Moily will present the awards.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily