Re-poll in Odisha's nine booths on Apr 25

Bhubaneswar: Election staff inspect the boxes containing EVMs and other election material ahead of the third phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, at a distribution centre, in Bhubaneswar, Sunday, April 21, 2019. (PTI Photo)(PTI4_21_2019_000102B)

The Election Commission has ordered fresh polling in nine booths of Odisha where voting was disrupted for various reasons during the second phase of polling on April 18.

Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar said the re-polls will be held on April 25.

Voting was affected in those booths located in eight assembly constituencies because of human error in operating VVPAT and EVMs, and damaging of an EVM by a ruling BJD candidate.

BJP's Sorada assembly candidate Nilami Bisoi was arrested on the charge of breaking the EVM on April 18.

The other seven assembly seats are Bonai, Sundargarh, Daspalla, Attabira, Bargarh, Padampur and Brajarajnagar.

In Daspalla, re-poll will be held two booths, the CEO said.

The CEO said the district collectors have been informed about the ECI's order.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)