BJP to issue whip to MLAs, independents in Karnataka

"The whip will come into effect from this afternoon," Chief Whip D N Jeevaraj said, adding "the whip can't be violated. Everybody has to abide by the whip".

He justified issuing whip to independents who had supported the government but have now withdrawn it, saying it has been done in the past and termed them as "co-members".

The BJP has 117 members in the 225-member Assembly, which includes Speaker K G Bopaiah.

As many as 19 MLAs including the independents had withdrawn support to the government earlier this week but three have already returned to the ruling camp, with the BJP confident of winning over rest of the rebels (not independents) barring three former Ministers.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)