Yousuf, Malik left out for New Zealand series

In another intriguing decision, the selectors ignored the performance of another former captain Shoaib Malik in the ongoing domestic season and did not select him in the squad either. “Right now we have announced the T20 and Test squads. The team for the one-day matches would be announced later on for the tour,” a PCB official said.

The official clarified that the delay in announcing the one-day squad was because three T20 matches and two Tests would be played first. However, he said that the decision to ignore Kamran, Kaneria, Malik and also seasoned opener Imran Farhat was linked to the PCB still awaiting clearance from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The squads: T20: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shahzad, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz (subject to fitness).

Tests: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Muhammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umar, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz (subject to fitness), Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman.

Comments (+)