Sri Hari rewrites backstroke mark

Sri Hari powered his way to gold in the Group IV boys’ category, clocking 35.39 seconds. In the process, the 10-year-old Delhi Public School (North) student erased the previous mark of 35.50 created by his State-mate S Siva last year in Bangalore.

Sri Hari, who trains at the Global Swimming Association in Sadashivnagar, comfortably beat silver medallist Rajdip Roy of West Bengal (38.28) and bronze medal winner Neel Roy of Maharashtra (38.29).

Pavithra B gave Karnataka the second gold of the day after claiming the Group III girls’ 100M butterfly title. The 12-year-old Basavanagudi Aquatic Centre (BAC) swimmer timed one minute 16.92 seconds for the gold.

The other medal winner for the State was Sanjeev R, who pocketed two bronze medals in the Group III boys’ 200M freestyle and 100M butterfly events.

Results: Boys: Group III: 200M freestyle: Saumya Vora (Mah) 2:17.20 seconds, 1; Aryan Makhija (Mah) 2:17.59, 2; Sanjeev R (Kar) 2:21.75, 3.

100M butterfly: M Harish Raj (TN) 1:10.65, 1; Ishaan Jaffer (Mah) 1:10.80, 2; Sanjeev R (Kar) 1:10.97, 3.

Group IV: 50M backstroke: N Sri Hari (Kar) 35.29, 1. National record (Old: 35.50, S Siva, Karnataka, 2010); Rajdip Roy (WB) 38.28, 2; Neel Roy (Mah) 38.29, 3.

Girls: Group III: 200M freestyle: Nikita Bhaiya (TN) 2:22.57, 1; Gitanjali Pandey (Guj) 2:23.92, 2; Nivya Raja (TN) 2:27.25, 3.

100M butterflystroke: Pavithra B (Kar) 1:16.92, 1; Sakshi Bhalgat (Mah) 1:17.25, 2; Teesta Rawal (Mah) 1:18.19, 3.

Group IV: 50M backstroke: Muskaant T (Mah) 38.35, 1; S Ashwini (TN) 39.26, 2; Rayna T (Mah) 39.34, 3.

Diving: Girls: Group II: 3M springboard: Yashika J Sheth (Mah) 205.05, 1; Sayali Mahadik (Mah) 203.90, 2; Genevieveakala D’Costa (Goa) 194.40, 3.
Group III: IM springboard: Simran Rajani (Mah) 192.55, 1; Veda Patel (Mah) 163.65, 2; Bhavika P (MP) 155.40, 3.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)