Konkani Kutam award for Stan Ageira

Addressing a press meet here on Friday, Konkani Kutam Convenor Richard Moras said Konkani Kutam is a voluntary forum for promoting Konkani language, literature and culture.

In its endevour to encourage and support Konkani writers, artistes, the Kutam has introduced Konkani Kutam award. The award consists of a citation, memento and a cash of Rs 50,000.

The award is conferred after analysing and evaluating the significant contribution to Konkani cause.

Renowned Konkani/Kannada writer Rev Fr Prashanth Madtha will preside over the programme while Konkani Writer Edwin J F D’Souza will b the chief guest.

Stan Ageira hails from Mulki and has been writing in Konkani for the last 35 years. He is known for short stories, novels, and humorous writings and plays.  He is currently based in Dubai. In 1975, his first short story ‘Amchi Katha’ was published in Raknno and since then, he has written more than 250 short stories. Short stories by Stan Ageira (Amar Prakashan) ‘Tambdi Mirsang’ (Ujwal Prakashan) and ‘Cha kafi’ (Raknno Prakashan) are his published collection of short stories. In 1981, his first novel ‘Nitidaar’ was serialised in ‘Jhelo’ magazine and since then he has 18 serialised and published novels to his credit published in different magazines and in the form of books. 

He has received Goa Basha Mandal Award to his ‘Badlanathlo Gavm’ and Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy award for his novels ‘Nalisaay’ and ‘Tambdi Mirsang’. He has also received the ‘Novelist of the Year’ from the ‘Daiz’ website in 2008. He has written a play ‘Kasale Grachar Saiba’ and the artists of Daiji Rangmandir played it to the popularity of theatre lovers in Dubai. Recently, his short story collection ‘Tea Coffee’ and ‘Cheese cake’ was published by Rider Publication in United States.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0