Daredevils, Bangalore sweat over foreign recruits

Daredevils, Bangalore sweat over foreign recruits

Of the nine cricketers who qualify for two teams, the Daredevils alone have four in their ranks and their Chief Operating Officer Amrit Mathur said the team management would go into a huddle soon before announcing their 20-player squad.

"We are aware of the rule and it has not come as a surprise to us," Mathur said.
"Now it's for us to decide on the 20-member team. We still have some time as we have to submit the list by August 24 and we would consult everyone -- obviously including the coach and captain -- before finalising the 20 names," he said.
Under the new rules, an 'away' team will have to shell out USD 200,000 to the 'home' side of a player who qualifies for multiple teams and is named in the 20-player list of both the squads.

Daredevils players Dirk Nannes (Victoria Bushrangers), David Warner (NSW Blues), Andrew McDonald (Victoria Bushrangers) and Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba) qualify to represent their home teams in the tournament starting on October 8.
Royal Challengers Bangalore face a similar dilemma with their foreign recruits Nathan Bracken (NSW Blues) and Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers) also qualifying to represent their home teams.
RCB CEO Brijesh Patel said it was too early to disclose who would be dropped or retained since it involves a considerable sum.
"We have not decided anything yet. We would soon sit and finalise the list and let you know," Patel said.
South African opener Herschelle Gibbs, part of the Indian Premier League II champions Deccan Chargers squad, will represent his home team Cape Cobras in the Champions League.
West Indian Dwayne Smith is the other player who qualifies for both Deccan Chargers and Sussex, neither of which are his home team.

Gibbs to play for Cape Cobras
Convenor of selectors for the Cape Cobras Omar Henry today announced the initial 20-member squad, led by South Africa captain Graeme Smith, which include Gibbs for the tournament due to be held in India from October 8 to 23.
Gibbs' inclusion came as a surprise since he was expected to play for Deccan Chargers.
Cape Cobras CEO Andre Odendaal said the side pencilled in Gibbs after the Chargers had released him.
"The Chargers confirmed over the weekend that Herschelle would not be in their squad and we are thrilled that a player of his pedigree will now be in the team," Odendaal said.
"It means a loss of potential income, but our first priority has always been to go to India to win," he added.
Under the rule, Deccan Chargers would have required to shell out USD 200,000 to Cape Cobras if they were to retain Gibbs' service in Champions League.
Squad: Graeme Smith (Captain), Derek Brand, Ryan Canning, Henry Davids, Jean-Paul Duminy, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Herschelle Gibbs, Claude Henderson, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, Carl Nieuwoudt, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Francois Plaatjies, Andrew Puttick, Gurshwin Rabie, Leonard van Wyk, Stiaan van Zyl and Monde Zondeki.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily