Vishnu voted most promising

Vishnu voted most promising

Krishnamurthy gets lifetime award

Vishnu Prasad was voted the most promising Motor Sportsman of the Year by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) which honoured its 2013 national champions on Sunday night.

Prasad was awarded the newly instituted rolling trophy promoted by Raymonds. Longtime scrutineer K Krishnamurthy was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Also present were FIA APRC Champion Gaurav Gill and Indian racer Armaan Ebhrahim.

The FMSCI honoured all its National Champions in the categories of MMSC FMSCI National Racing Championship, FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, JK Tyre FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship, FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship, FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship and MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Super cross Championship.

Indians who excelled abroad, including Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan and Gill, were also recognised.

India’s superbike team Mahi Racing, owned by country’s cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, was recognised for winning the World Supersport Constructors title.

Sahara Force Academy Driver Jehan Daruvala, who became the first Indian to win the British KF3 Karting Championship, was also given an award by the FMSCI.

Riders including K Rajni Krishnan, winner at Losail Asia Road Racing Championship, R Deepak and K Jagan were also given awards for their great effort internationally.

Newly-elected President J Prithviraj said the glamorous Formula One circuit which has dropped India from its calendar this year and for the next, was only a small blip on the motor sports and promised the country would regain its status on the GP circuit. 

“It is important that we honour our champions and show them the respect they deserve. This is the start of better things to come and we are up to the challenge of taking the sport to greater heights.”