Karnataka women emerge champions

Karnataka women emerge champions

Karnataka eves produced an all-win performance to emerge champions in the South Zone women’s under-19 tournament held at Vijayawada. 

The State eves started their campaign on a positive note, beating Andhra by 22 runs in a low-scoring encounter. 

The State team were all out for a paltry 131 in 47.5 overs but came back strongly with the ball to bundle out Andhra for 109 in 44.3 overs. K Pushpa (3/17) and G Divya (3/19) were among the wickets for the winners. 

Karnataka then strengthened their chances of winning the tournament by producing comfortable wins against  Goa (by 129 runs), Kerala (by 45 runs) and Tamil Nadu (by 8 wickets). 

Against Goa, Karnataka registered the most convincing victory with the help of some solid batting display. After scoring a decent 241 for seven in 50 overs, the State team restricted Goa to 112 for nine. For the winners G Divya (63) and S Shubha (59) scored half centuries.    The champions finished the tournament on a high overwhleming Hyderabad by eight wickets in their final match. 

After bowling out Hyderabad for a lowly 171 in 49.2 overs, Karnataka eves knocked off the target with ease in 40 overs thanks to valuable knocks from G Divya (51), S Shubha (41) and S Ramya (44 n.o.).

Brief scores: Karnataka: 131 all out in 47.5 overs (Rhea Sanjan 28; Jhansi Lakshmi 2-24, A Sri Lakshmi 2-25, K Dhathri 2-28) bt Andhra: 109 all out in 44.3 overs (N Anusha 31, K Anjali Sarvani 36; K Pushpa 3-17, G Divya 3-19).

Karnataka: 241/7 in 50 overs (G Divya 63, Shubha S 59, S Ramya 43; Bharathi 4-43) bt Goa: 112/9 in 50 overs (Pushpa K 2-21, Sahana S Pawar 2-8).

Karnataka: 166/8 in 50 overs (Pushpa K 45, C Prathyusha 43; Alka A Suresh 2-23, Minnu Mani 2-23, Akshaya A 2-27) bt Kerala: 121 all out in 44.4 overs (Simren Henry 3-40, DD Dutta 2-17). 

Tamilnadu: 106 all out in 41.2 overs (SB Keerthana 39) lt to Karnataka: 107/2 in 21.1 overs (G Divya 36, S Shubha 33; Nida Rehman 2-19).

Hyderabad: 171 all out in 49.2 overs (Sneha More 33, Himani Yadav 31; DD Dutta 3-44) lt to Karnataka: 175/2 in 40 overs (G Divya 51, S Shubha 41, S Ramya 44 n.o.).

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox