Santosh, Suma clinch titles

Athletics Nettakallappa memorial road races

Santosh, Suma clinch titles

Santosh Lakshman Saidanor of Madras Engineering Group (MEG) and Suma Chandranayak from NITTE Education Trust bagged the top honours in the men’s and women’s sections respectively in the Deccan Athletic Club’s Nettakallappa Memorial Road Races, sponsored by Deccan Herald and Prajavani, here on Sunday.

In the 12km men’s race, Santosh clocked 38:49 seconds to emerge the winner, ahead of Sridhar and Sunil RP.

In the women’s 6km race, Suma powered to gold in 26:08 seconds while Vijayapura’s Vandana Mata (28:38) and Bengaluru’s Yashaswini Srikanth (29.04) settled for second and third positions respectively.

“Bidar needs better infrastructure to promote sports. We are thankful for DAC’s efforts to provide opportunities for talented athletes and I look forward to more such events in the district,” remarked Santosh.

In the boys’ 2.5km race NITTE’s Dinesh bagged gold in a time of 8:20 seconds while Vijayapura’s Malleshwari Rathod (8:52) claimed the top spot on the podium in the girls’ category.

Results: Men (12km): Santosh Lakshman Saidanor (MEG, 38:49), 1; Shridhar 2; Sunil RP 3.

Women (6km): Suma Chandranayak (NITTE, 26:08) 1; Vandana Matha (Vijayapura) 2; Yashaswini Srikanth (Bengaluru) 3. 

Boys: Dinesh (NITTE, 8:20) 1; Sujith More (Bidar) 2; Shirish (Udupi) 3.
Girls: Malleshwari Rathod (Vijayapura, 8:52) 1; Neelamma Rathod (Vijayapura) 2; Samrutha Manohar (Belagavi) 3.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)