MSRIT students win Innovation award

MSRIT students win Innovation award

It is a well known fact that car accidents are one of the most fatal cause of deaths. To reduce such fatalities, the students of MS Ramaiah Institute Technology (MSRIT) have designed a device that uses a radar technology to detect and assess distances so as to avoid accidents due to vehicle collision.

The students have won the Texas Instruments Innovation Challenge Chairman’s award for their innovation. Former President of India, A P J Abdul Kalam, was present at the finals of the competition.

Comprised of Anoop Kulkarni, Karthikeshwar Varma and Rakshit Ramesh the team from MSRIT were visibly overjoyed at the victory: “It feels like a dream come true to be able to demonstrate our year-long effort to an inspiring scientist like Dr Kalam, and we thank TI for giving us the platform to help us make this a reality,” they said.

As the winners, they went home with a prize of $10,000.

Speaking on the occasion Kalam highlighted his vision of innovation such as the one demonstrated by these students as a key to national development.

More than 80,000 engineering students from across India have participated in this contest through over the past six years with the aim to solve real-world problems and create lasting social impact.

A project by students of Meghnad Saha Institute of Technology, Kolkata on “Automated Irrigation System with Advanced Security” was adjudged as the first runners up winner and the team took home a cash prize of $5,000.

Another project by Easwari Engineering College, Chennai on low-cost system for monitoring important health parameters of crop and consolidation of data was declared as the second runner up winners and the team won $ 2,000.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)