624 organisations in State lose licences

624 organisations in State lose licences

The Centre has cancelled the licence to collect foreign funds of 624 NGOs and institutions from Karnataka for failing to submit their annual returns on time.

With this, the number of organisations that have lost the Foreign Contribution Regulation Act (FCRA) licence rose to 804. On June 11, the Home Ministry revealed names of 190 organisations, while the rest was made public on Friday.

In September, the ministry issued show-cause notices to 10,343 NGOs and institutions across the country, including 821 from Karnataka, for not filing the mandatory returns for the fiscals 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-12.

As per FCRA, a registered organisation will have to file returns for every fiscal even if it does not receive any foreign funds. These NGOs and institutions form part of the 8,975 organisations against which action was taken. A number of religious and educational institutions are in the list too.

Other prominent organisations that faced action include Karnataka Regional Engineering College (now NIT, Surathkal), Bangalore Medical Trust, YMCA and Rotary Club branches at 7 locations, including three in Bengaluru.

The Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences, set up by the State government in 1996 to bring all health science colleges and institutions under one roof, also lost its licence.

The Paralympics Committee of India, which is coordinating activities of physically challenged sports and wheelchair athletes, lost permission to collect foreign funds.

Kuvempu University, Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University, Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology, State Aids Prevention Society and Unesco Co-action Learning Centre are also barred from receiving foreign funds.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)