Y V Reddy, Gavai, Arundhati, conferred with Padma awards

Y V Reddy, Gavai, Arundhati, conferred with Padma awards

Those selected for Padma Bhushan include Pandit Puttaraj Gavai (art), Prof B M Hegde (medicine) and Balagangadharanatha Swamiji (social work).

No name has been announced yet for Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian honour.
Oscar-winning music composer A R Rahman, veteran composer Ilayaraja and Bollywood actor Aamir Khan have been named for the Padma Bhushan award.

Noted theatre personalities Zohra Segal and Ebrahim Alkazi, noted mridangam artist Umayalpuram K Sivaraman, India-born American journalist Fareed Zakaria and New York-based hotelier Sant Singh Chatwal are also in the list of Padma Bhushan awardees.

Padma Shri
The Padma Shri awardees are Arundhati Nag (art), Dr B Ramana Rao (medicine), Prof  Kodaganur S Gopinath (medicine), Prof M R Satyanarayana Rao (science and engineering), Dr Vijaylakshmi Ravindranath (science and engineering).

Bollywood actress Rekha, actor Saif Ali Khan and Oscar awardee sound engineer Resul Pookkutty have been selected for the Padma Shri award.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)