Govt sets up councils for communal harmony

Govt sets up councils for communal harmony

Set up as apolitical bodies, the council comprises 30 members, including the chairperson.
The district in-charge minister will be chairperson of the District Integration Council (DIC), while the local MLA will be the chairperson of the Taluk Integration Council (TIC).

The BJP Government had come under criticism for frequent communal flare ups across the State. The Centre had even issued an advisory on the law and order situation following a series of attacks on churches.

Eminent citizens

Other members of the council include Commissioner of police, DC, SP, ZP, CEO, Home Guards commandant, 10 eminent citizens representing all communities, 10 members representing various denominations among Hindus, besides scholars, educationists and intellectuals. The local MPs, MLAs and MLCs are also its members.

According to the Government order issued in this regard recently, eminent citizens and members representing various Hindu denominations will be appointed by the DC as per the recommendations of the Chairperson (the district in-charge minister).

List of members

The deputy commissioners have been directed to submit the list of members to the Home Department within one month.

The council will meet once in two months or whenever necessary with at least 1/3rd  quorum of its members. It will review the communal harmony situation in its limits and give appropriate suggestions.

“The council may evolve appropriate policies for the promotion of unity and harmony in society and create required public opinion in support of the policies,” the order stated.