Changed power equation in Rajya Sabha after biennial polls

Last Updated 26 July 2010, 11:20 IST

Leaders of some parties have moved to the front row, relegating some of sitting members to the backseat.

Tiruchi Siva of DMK, whose strength rose from four to seven, as also Pyarimohan Mohapatara of BJD, are now occupying the front row. BJD's numbers have risen from four to six after the elections.

The elevation of Siva is at the cost of AIADMK's V Maitreyan who has now been seated in the second row after the party's strength came down to five from seven.

Incidentally, BSP is now the third largest party in the 245-member Upper House, relegating the CPI(M) to the fourth position as its tally has come down to 15 from 16.
As BSP's graph has risen to 18 from 13, the Samajwadi Party, its arch rival in Uttar Pradesh, has suffered the biggest erosion in its strength -- from  11 to five.
The CPI retains its numbers at five.

Along with Leader of Opposition Arun Jaitley and BJP's S S Ahluwalia and M Venkaiah Naidu, the front row is being occupied by Satish Chandra Mishra (BSP), Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M), Manohar Joshi (Shiv Sena) and Tariq Anwar (NCP).

Despite the fact that it won most of the 55 seats in the biennial elections, the UPA still has no majority in the Upper House.

The number is more or less the same for the ruling alliance. The Congress tally is now 70 including two nominated members. Its strength is likely to increase by one more with a vacancy from party-ruled Haryana expected to be filled soon.

The strength of Sharad Pawar-led NCP has risen to seven from six while that of Trinamool Congress, another major ally of the UPA, remains at two. The National Conference's tally is also two.

The BJP's strength has gone up from 47 to 49.  Regarding other NDA allies, there has been no change in the numbers of JD(U), Shiv Sena and Shiromani Akali Dal which remain at seven, four and three respectively.

(Published 26 July 2010, 11:16 IST)

Follow us on