Lok Sabha Elections 2024: 'Teary' PM said NDA could not win a single seat in Tamil Nadu: DMK

DMK's campaigning targeted the BJP by saying that nurturing the party would be dangerous for the whole of India.
Last Updated : 17 June 2024, 09:14 IST

Follow Us :


Chennai: DMK's Tamil mouthpiece Murasoli on Monday claimed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the recent meeting of MPs of the National Democratic Alliance had said with 'teary eyes' that they could not win even a single Lok Sabha seat in Tamil Nadu.

"He did not say why they could not win. He does not seem to have realised the reason for that. He will not spell out the reason even if he has realised and he cannot disclose that reason," Murasoli said in its editorial on June 17.

The DMK-led I.N.D.I.A. bloc in Tamil Nadu has been unmasking the BJP not only for electoral politics but it is being done ideologically and this alliance was not formed in the state just before the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. "This alliance has been waging a democratic war against the fascist BJP for the past five years."

The DMK and its allies could secure a landslide victory by its grassroots campaign. The campaigning targeted the BJP by saying that nurturing the party would be dangerous for the whole of India. DMK president and Chief Minister M K Stalin's pitch—that a vote for BJP is an 'insult' was wholeheartedly accepted by people and it is evidenced by a win in all the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies, 39 in Tamil Nadu and one in Puducherry.

The daily said the DMK president, in his address at the 'Mupperum Vizha' on June 15 in Coimbatore, "stood tall by dedicating the victory to the DMK cadres, workers of parties of the I.N.D.I.A. bloc and all the leaders" of the alliance parties.

"Yes, in today's politics Dravida Munnetra Kazhaga Thalaivar (president) M K Stalin is a rare leader," it said adding the Lok Sabha election victory was marvellous, and it was achieved by the chief minister.

DMK and its allies, including the Left parties and Congress won all the 39 LS constituencies in Tamil Nadu and also the lone seat in neighbouring Puducherry.

Lok Sabha Election 2024 results | Check all constituency results here

Odisha Assembly poll 2024 results| Check constituency results here

Andhra Pradesh Assembly poll 2024 results | Check constituency results here

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 | Narendra Modi's '400-paar' hopes faced stiff competition from Rahul Gandhi's I.N.D.I.A. in an election whose result came as a surprise. Track the latest coverage, live news, in-depth opinions, and analyses only on Deccan Herald.

Assembly Elections 2024 | The polls in Sikkim saw an SKM landslide win, while Arunachal Pradesh saw BJP return, Andhra Pradesh welcomed TDP with a massive mandate, and Odisha saw BJP end BJD's stronghold. Subscribe and follow DH on Whatsapp, X, Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram to never miss out on anything.

Published 17 June 2024, 09:14 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us