NDA leads in 38 seats in Bihar; oppn set for decimation

NDA leads in 38 seats in Bihar; oppn set for decimation

Patna: Counting is underway in Bihar. (PTI Photo)


The BJP-led NDA is all set for a stupendous victory in Bihar, surging ahead of its rivals in 38 out of 40 seats and it may turn out to be the best performance for any political formation in the state, in decades, if the trends are translated into results.

Among the opposition parties, the RJD which had ruled the state for 15 years since 1990 and is currently the party with the highest number of members in the state assembly appears headed for decimation as party supremo Lalu Prasad's daughter Misa Bharti the sole party candidate with a slender lead over the NDA rival, BJP leader and Union minister Ram Kripal Yadav.

The Congress, which is leading in only one, may be headed for its worst ever performance in a state where it has for long been relegated to the position of a marginal player. Congress had two Lok Sabha seats in Bihar in 2014 while RJD had four.

As per the figures made available by the Election Commission, Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad seems poised to retain the Patna Sahib seat for his party, wresting it from sitting MP Shatrughan Sinha, who had crossed over to the Congress less than two months ago.

While the BJP is leading in 16 out of the 17 seats it had contested, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JD(U) which returned to the NDA a couple of years ago and contested as many constituencies is surging ahead in all but one seat. Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party is leading in all the six seats it had contested.

Earlier in the BJP-led NDA is leading in 38 seats of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar while the RJD is leading in two seats, according to Electrion Commission trends. The BJP and JD(U) are leading in 16 seats each while the LJP is leading in six seats. The RJD, a 'Mahagathbandhan' constituent, is leading in two seats of Jehanabad and Pataliputra.

Prominent NDA faces who are leading include- Union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad (Patna Sahib), Radha Mohan Singh (Purvi Champaran), Giriraj Singh (Begusarai), RK Singh (Ara), Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Buxar) Rajiv Pratap Rudy (Saran), Chirag Paswan (Jamui), Ram Vilas Paswan's brother Pashupati Kumar Paras (Hajipur) are also among the NDA candidates who are leading.

MUST READ | Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

ALSO READ | Karnataka Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE

MUST READ | Assembly Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

Union Minister and BJP candidate Ram Kripal Yadav is trailing by over 6,200 votes from his rival RJD candidate and Lalu Prasad's eldest daughter Misa Bharti in Pataliputra seat.

Prominent faces of the 'Mahagathbandhan' faces who are trailing include Sharad Yadav (Madhepura), actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Sahib), former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kjmar (Sasaram), former JNUSU president and CPI nominee Kanhaiya Kumar (Begusarai), RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha (Karakat), Vikassheel Insan Party chief Mukesh Sahni (Khagaria), former Bihar CM and HAM (S) Jitan Ram Manjhi (Gaya).

Union Law Minister and BJP candidate Ravi Shankar Prasad is leading by over 36,000 votes over his nearest Congress candidate and film star Shatrughan Sinha in Patna Sahib constituency while Giriraj Singh has maintained a lead of over 80,000 votes over his rival CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar in Begusarai constituency.

Senior leader Sharad Yadav, who is contesting on a RJD ticket from Madhepura, is trailing behind Dinesh Chandra Yadav of the JD(U) by over 40,000 votes.

Meira Kumar is trailing by over 18,000 votes in Sasaram while former chief minister and HAM chief Jitan Ram Manjhi is trailing by over 32,000 votes in Gaya.