Chief justices recommended for four high courts

Chief justices recommended for four high courts

The Supreme Court Collegium headed by CJI Ranjan Gogoi has recommended appointments of chief justices in High Courts of Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Telangana.

Of the 25 high courts, Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat and Telangana High Courts at present had acting chief justice.

In a series of resolutions passed on May 10, the Collegium, also comprising Justices S A Bobde and N V Ramana, appointed Justice D N Patel, a judge of Jharkhand High Court, and originally from Gujarat High Court, as chief justice of the Delhi High Court.

The post is likely to fall vacant after the retirement of current chief justice Rajendra Menon next month.

The Collegium also recommended for appointment of Justice A A Kureshi as chief justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court. He would be appointed after retirement of Justice A K Seth, current chief justice over there. Justice Kureshi, a senior-most judge from the Gujarat High Court, is currently functioning as a judge in the Bombay High Court.

Justice V Ramasubramanian, the senior-most Judge from Madras High Court, was recommended by the Collegium for the post of chief justice in Himachal Pradesh High Court. He is serving as a judge in the Telangana High Court. He would replace Justice Surya Kant, who is chief justice of the high court currently and will be elevated to Supreme Court.

Justice R S Chauhan, the senior-most judge from Rajasthan High Court, who is at present functioning as a judge of the Telangana High Court, was recommended for appointment as chief justice over there.

In another resolution, the Collegium recommended for appointment of two advocates – Vishal Dhagat and Vishal Mishra – as judges of the Madhya Pradesh High Court. The Collegium found only two out of five recommendations sent by the high court suitable.