Karnataka boys do star turn

Karnataka boys do star turn

FINE KNOCK Ambati Rayudu of India ‘A’ en route to his unbeaten 62 against Australia ‘A’. DH PHOTO/SATISH BADIGER

It was a thorough effort from the Karnataka lads as India ‘B’ secured a comfortable 30-run victory via DLS the method in the opening round of fixtures of the Quadrangular series at Alur ground on Thursday.

Skipper Manish Pandey (95 not out), pacer Prasidh Krishna (4/49) and Shreyas Gopal (3/42) were the star performers for India ‘B’ as they made light work of the South Africa ‘A’ target of 231, finishing at 214 for five in 40.3 overs.

Pandey had earlier called the toss right and put the visitors in to bat under overcast skies and Prasidh made full use of the conditions. The right-arm seamer accounted for opening bat Rudi Second (13) and one-down Theunis de Bruyn with the Proteas struggling at 57 for four.

Senuran Muthusamy and Farhaan Behardien then stitched a 104-run partnership to steady the ship before Shreyas got into the act and dismissed both in the space of three runs.

But late cameos from Malusi Siboto (26) and Dane Paterson (25) ensured SA ‘A’ reached a fighting total.

Paterson then followed it up with two quick blows during the chase to leave the hosts reeling at 22 for two, the prolific Mayank Agarwal and Deepak Hooda back in the hut.

Shubman Gill (42) and Pandey then resurrected the innings and had India ‘B’ in a comfortable position before the former departed.

With Pandey holding up one end, Kedar Jadhav (23) and Ishan Kishan (24) chipped in with handy knocks before the downpour forced a Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method to decide the result.

Siraj, Gowtham shine

In another match, Mohammed Siraj (4/68) and K Gowtham (3/31) were prolific with the ball as India ‘A’ notched a five-wicket win over Australia ‘A’ at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here.

The Shreyas Iyer-led side were in a spot of bother at 29 for four in pursuit of 152 but Ambati Rayudu (62 not out) and Krunal Pandya (49) guided the side home.

Brief scores: At Alur: South Africa ‘A’: 231 all out in 47.3 overs (Gihahn Cloete 25, Farhaan Behardien 43, Senuran Muthusamy 55, Malusi Siboto 26, Dane Paterson 25; Prasidh Krishna 4-49, Shreyas Gopal 3-42) lt to India ‘B’: 214/5 in 40.3 overs (Shubman Gill 42, Manish Pandey 95 n.o.; Dane Paterson 2-33) by 30 runs on D/L method.

At M Chinnaswamy Stadium: Australia ‘A’: 151 all out in 31.4 overs (Travis Head 28, Ashton Agar 34; Md Siraj 4-68, K Gowtham 3-31) lt to India ‘A’: 152/5 in 38.3 overs (Ambati Rayudu 62 n.o., Krunal Pandya 49; Jhye Richardson 3-27)

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox