Railway, Delhi post wins

Railway, Delhi post wins

In Group A, Indian Railways outplayed Karnataka 100-33, while Delhi got the better of Maharashtra 98-42 to record second successive win in Group B of the tournament.

Formidable Railways were the first team to reach a figure of 100 points in the tournament.
Railways made mincemeat of a hapless Karnataka women’s  hoopsters to register yet another victory in the championships.

Right from the word go, the eventual winners were on the right track to victory as Karnataka players fell meekly without resistance.

Leading from the front, Railways skipper P Anitha set the ball rolling for the team and helped gain a big lead at the break (49-16).

Anitha combined well with Anju Lakra and Geethu Anna Jose in the second half of the match, to swell the team’s score to 100 when the final whistle blew.

Savitha, who basketted 18 points  and Kruthika, who scored 10 points for Karnataka stood out with their performance against Railways who have in their ranks several internationals.

In another Group A match, Chattisgarh scored a comfortable 94-41 win over Uttar Pradesh.

Last years’ semifinalist Chattisgarh had a smooth ride as the rival team failed to raise the level of their game in all the four quarters of the encounter.

In Group B, Delhi scored another easy win in the tournament, but narrowly missed to add two points to its score of 98 against Maharasthra.
In the same pool, Tami Nadu also beat Andhra Pradesh 43-35.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox