Karnataka Gram Panchayat election highlights: Dharwad district reports 63.96% polling at 3 pm

A total of 3,019 panchayats in 117 taluks across Karnataka go for polling in the first phase of Gram Panchayat elections today, amid the coronavirus pandemic. Polling will be held from 7 am to 5 pm in over 23,000 booths. Those who have tested positive or under primary/secondary contacts can vote in the last hour of polling. The second phase of polls is scheduled on December 27. Counting for both phases will be held on December 30.
  • 07:38

    Dear readers, thank you for following DH's live coverage on the Karnataka Gram Panchayat polls.

    We will be back with more updates on the second phase. Meanwhile, for more latest news and updates, click here.

  • 18:40

    A policeman carries an elderly voter as others stand in a queue to cast their votes at a polling station during the first phase of panchayat elections, near Chikmagalur.

    PTI Photo

  • 17:45

    Hassan polling at 70.20% by 3 pm.

  • 16:51

    Mysuru reports 62.6% polling till 3 pm.

  • 16:26

    Dharwad district reports 63.96% polling at 3 pm.

  • 16:09

    Chamarajanagar taluk polling at 67.02%, Gundlupet reports 57.35% at 3 pm.

  • 15:37

    Mandya parliamentarian Sumalatha casts her vote in the Gram Panchayat polls at a booth in Doddarasinakere village in Maddur taluk of Mandya.

    DH Photo

  • 13:55
  • 12:59

    Veteran actress Leelavathi and actor Vinod Raj cast their vote in No 167 of Mylanahalli in Nalamangala taluk. Credit: DHPhoto/B H Shivakumar

  • 12:26

    Until 11 am, Belagavi taluk recorded 23.1% polling, Khanapur 9.36%, Hukkeri 20.5%, Bailhongal 7.92%, Kittur 22.36%, Gokak 20.52% and Mudalagi 24.99%.

  • 10:47

    7.22 per cent polling in first two hours in Belagavi

    7.22 per cent polling was recorded in the first two hours during the first phase of elections for Gram Panchayat elections in seven taluks in the district on Tuesday.

    Belagavi taluk recorded 10.38 per cent, Hukkeri 5.91 per cent, Khanapur 5 per cent, Bailhongal 5.28 per cent, Kittur 6.89 per cent, Gokak 6.4 per cent and Mudalagi 9.03 per cent.

  • 10:46

    Polling in 194 Gram Panchayats begins in Chikkamagaluru

    The elections in 194 gram panchayats with 1893 seats in Chikkamagaluru began on Tuesday.

    Read more

  • 10:28

    Polling in 106 Gram Panchayats in Dakshina Kannada begins

    The gram panchayat elections in 106 GPs in Mangaluru, Moodbidri and Bantwal taluks of Dakshina Kannada (DK) commenced on Tuesday morning.

    Read more

  • 10:28

    Voting for GP polls begins in Kalyana Karnataka

    Voting for the first phase of Gram Panchayat polls began on Tuesday in Kalyana Karnataka.

    Read more

  • 10:13

    DK district registered an average of 14.48% polling by 9 am. Mangaluru registered 14.6% polling, Moodbidri-15.64% polling and Bantwal 13.7% polling.

  • 10:04

    In Udupi a total of 2349 candidates are in fray for 1,047 seats in the first phase of gram panchayat elections in 67-gram panchayats in Udupi, Hebri, Baindoor and Brahmavara taluks.

    No nominations were filed for 12 seats in Kodi Kanyana Gram Panchayat in Brahmavar.

  • 09:52

    A police constable on election duty at polling station-3 at Kaddirampur village under Hampi Gram Panchayat suffered heart attack. Constable Tavarenaik has been admitted to local government hospital.

  • 09:52

    Voting for Kallahalli Gram Panchayat in Hosapete taluk is being held after a gap of 26 years. Election to this GP could not be conducted as members were electing unopposed.

  • 09:39

    The number of voters in each booth has been reduced from 1,500 to 1,000, also Anganwadi, ASHA workers and Health Department officials have been roped in for poll duty.


  • 09:33

    Police dispersing supporters of candidates as they had been campaigning with their leader near a polling station at Kangrali KH village in Belagavi taluk during the first phase of Gram Panchayat elections on Tuesday. Credit: DH Photo/Eknath Agasimani

  • 09:31

    Voters showing their identity cards during the polling for the first phase of Gram Panchayat elections at a polling station at Kangrali KH village in Belagavi taluk on Tuesday. Credit: DH Photo/ Eknath Agasimani

  • 09:09

    Voting for the first phase of gram panchayat elections starts in Karnataka. The second phase of the polls is scheduled on December 27.

  • 09:08

    Good morning readers, welcome to DH's live coverage of the first phase of Karnataka Gram Panchayat elections.