MCC likely to witness hung council again

MCC likely to witness hung council again

Election officials prepare to conduct election for Urban Local Body, in Mysuru, on Thursday.

With no single party succeeding to get a clear majority in the elections to form the council in the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) since its formation in 1983, the verdict this time is also expected to be a hung council.

The MCC has witnessed six elections since it was upgraded to City Corporation from Municipality in 1983. But, no single party has emerged victorious with a majority to form the council.

Though all the three major political parties, Congress, BJP and JD(S), are hopeful of getting a majority in the seventh election to be held on August 31, there are no indications of a single party getting majority. The elections are scheduled for a total number of 65 wards in the city and 33 is the magic number to form the council.

This time, rebel candidates and an active participation of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI), may hinder the chances of political parties to obtain a clear majority.

The previous council in 2013-2018, was formed by JD(S) and BJP despite Congress emerging as the largest party. While JD(S) managed to win 20 wards, BJP won 12 seats. Though Congress party won in 22 wards, BJP-JD(S) formed the council. Eleven independent candidates were elected as corporators in 2013.

In the first election of 57 wards, Janata Party had won majority seats but, it failed to form the council due to the shortage of three seats. Janata party formed the council with the support of independent candidates. In the 1990 election, Congress missed the opportunity with a shortage of two seats. In 1996, the number of wards was increased to 65 after delimitation and it was a neck-to-neck fight between Janata Dal and Congress. But, both the parties failed to get an absolute majority. While Congress managed to win 21, Janata Party candidates from 27 wards were elected as corporators. Similarly, in the 2002 election, the fight between the two parties continued and Congress missed the opportunity to form the council with a shortage of four seats.

In 2007, it was a fight between all the three major political parties. While Congress emerged as the biggest party with 22 seats, BJP and JD(S) managed to win 18 seats each and formed the council.

This time, as many 393 candidates are in the fray. While the Congress has fielded its candidates in all the 65 wards, the BJP and JD(S) have fielded candidates in 62 and 63 wards respectively.