APMC polls: JD(S) romps home

APMC polls: JD(S) romps home

JD(S) registers victory in four committees; BJP to occupy power in Belur

While, BJP has won the Belur taluk committee. Out of the elections held to the five APMCs in the district, the JD (S) registered victory in four committees, even as BJP sprang a surprise bagging six seats in Belur TAPMC.

Though, JD (S) has won more seats than the BJP in Belur, the TAPMC will see nomination of three members from the government.


Out of the total 13 seats to which the elections were held in the taluk, the JD(S) has won seven seats and BJP bagged six seats. If the government nominees are included, the BJP will hold the reign of Belur for first time.

In Holenarasipur APMC (which includes Arakalgud committee), the JD (S) has maintained the lead winning eight seats out of the total 13 seats.

The party bagged all the five seats in Holeanarasipur limits. In Arakalgud, if JD (S) claimed to have won five seats, the Congress claimed single seat. While, two JD(S) members are elected for the Holenarasipur APMC, each one from PLD bank and TAPCMS seats, party leaders said.

In Channarayapatna and Sakleshpur, the JD(S) sweeped the maximum seats. Out of 13 TAPMC seats in Channarayapatna, JD (S) registered victory in 10 seats and Congress worn in three seats.

The party bagged 10 out of 12 seats where elections were held in Sakleshpur, while BJP won two seats. Two JD (S) members have been elected unopposed in the taluk.

For Hassan APMC, the JD (S) won eight seats out of 11 seats. The Congress backed candidates registered victory in three seats. Shankare Gowda was elected the representative from TAPCMS through lottery as he and his opponent Jagadeesh Kabbinahalli  tied with 11 seats each.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)