HC quashes order on judges' retirement

HC quashes order on judges' retirement

The High Court of Karnataka on Monday quashed an order dated June 23, 2009 by the then Governor on compulsory retirement of three civil judges.

A committee was set up in September 2005 to review the performance of all the judicial officers in the State and mention the performance in their confidential reports.

A full Bench headed by then Chief Justice P D Dinakaran recommended the Governor for compulsory retirement of 15 judicial officers. Aggrieved by the order, 10 judicial officers approached the High Court. Justice Anand Byrareddy quashed the Governor’s order, last month.

Another three such judges - S Y Kambar, Raju and Mursolgi - too approached the High Court challenging their compulsory retirement. Justice Nag Mohan Das concurred with the order of Justice Anand Byrareddy and quashed the compulsory retirement order.

The three judges had contended that no departmental inquiry had been ordered against them and the move was against the principal of natural justice.

Counsel for the petitioners, H N M Prasad submitted that the State has not followed Rule 285 (4) of the Karnataka Civil Services Rules and the judicial officers cannot be treated like any other government servants.