Mangalore hold nerve to outwit Gladiators

Mangalore hold nerve to outwit Gladiators

POWER PACKED: Mangalore United’s Rohit Sabharwal drives against Malnad Gladiators on Tuesday. DH PHOTOIn a match affected by rain, United owed it to Rohit Sabharwal (52, 39b, 7x4, 2x6) and Udit Patel’s (33 n.o., 18b, 1x4, 3x6) late belligerence to rally from 69 for two in 11 overs at the rain break and reach 135 for five in 17 overs.

Under the VJD method, the Gladiators had to score 140 in 17 overs, but after slipping to 18 for four, they were only playing for pride.

They finished at 126 for seven, thanks to tremendous ball-striking late in the innings by A Mithun, who made an unbeaten 34 (19b, 3x4, 2x6).

S Arvind scalped three wickets for 30 for United.


MANGALORE UNITED: Rohit Sabharwal c Bhatkal b Mithun 52, Bharath Chipli c Shanbal b Bhatkal 12, Nikhil Haldipur c (sub) Darshan b Bhatkal 11, R Jonathan c Satish b Ninan 20, Udit Patel (not out) 33, Vijay Chavan c Mithun b Gowtham 4, DC Rajesh (not out) 0. Extras (LB-1, W-2) 3. Total (for 5 wkts, 17 overs) 135.

Fall of wickets: 1-29, 2-43, 3-94, 4-97, 5-129. Bowling: A Mithun 4-0-31-1, KP Rohan 3-0-17-0, Raju Bhatkal 4-0-23-2, KP Appanna 2-0-13-0, SL Akshay 1-0-23-0, Ryan Ninan 2-0-20-1, K Gowtham 1-0-7-1.

MALNAD GLADIATORS (REVISED TARGET, 140 TO WIN IN 17 OVERS): Nishanth Hegde c Patel b Arvind 2, K Gowtham b Venkatesh 4, SL Akshay c Moinuddin b Arvind 41, Ganesh Satish (run out) 0, Raju Bhatkal c Venkatesh b Moinuddin 2, KC Avinash c Sabharwal b Rajesh 17, Rajshekar Shanbal (not out) 17, Ryan Ninan c Sabharwal b Arvind 0, A Mithun (not out) 34. Extras (B-1, LB-2, W-5, NB-1) 9. Total (for 7 wkts, 17 overs) 126.

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-8, 3-9, 4-18, 5-63, 6-73, 7-74. Bowling: H Venkatesh 4-0-24-1, S Arvind 4-0-30-3, SK Moinuddin 2-0-15-1, Udit Patel 2-0-12-0, DC Rajesh 3-0-22-1, R Jonathan 2-0-20-0.