Maharaajas get past Gladiators

Maharaajas get past Gladiators

Mysore team records second straight victory in 10-over bash

GOT HIM! Malnad Gladiators’ Rajshekar Shanbal has his stumps rearranged by B Rajasekhar on Wednesday. DH photo

In a match reduced to 10 overs a side due to heavy rains in the afternoon, Maharaajas scaled down 62 after a few tense moments. It was the Mysore outfit’s second win four matches. Earlier, the Gladiators made 61 after being asked to bat.
The Gladiators never found any rhythm as they lost wickets at regular intervals. At 43 for six in eight overs, they were in serious trouble of getting restricted even below 50. But a couple of boundaries from A Mithun propelled their run rate to over six.
On a sluggish pitch, the Maharaajas’ batsmen struggled to get going, and many of them got out trying to play big shots. Skipper C Raghu came out to open the innings but could not make the desired impact, an almighty heave off Raju Bhatkal ending his stay.
HT Sudhir Rao essayed some powerful shots and his cameo, 25, was precious in the context of the match. Maharaajas, who had to wait till the penultimate ball for the win, finally breathed a sigh of relief as Chetan William drove KP Appanna for a boundary.


MALNAD GLADIATORS: K Gowtham c Basavaraj b William 1, Rajshekar Shanbal b Rajasekhar 7, SL Akshay b Kazi 9, Raju Bhatkal c Manjuanth b Kazi 1, Ganesh Satish lbw Raghavendra 8, A Mithun b Kazi 15, Ryan Ninan b Raghu 10, KC Avinash c William b Sagar 6, Sanjay Kumar c Bille b Sagar 0, KP Appanna b Sagar 0, Santosh Kumar D (not out) 1. Extras (LB-2, W-1) 3. Total (all out, 10 overs) 61.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-11, 3-18, 4-18, 5-39, 6-43, 7-56, 8-60, 9-60.
Bowling: Aditya Sagar 2-0-11-3, Chetan William 1-0-3-1, C Raghavendra 2-0-6-1, Rajashekar B 2-0-18-1, Abrar Kazi 2-0-10-3, C Raghu 1-0-11-1.

MYSORE MAHARAAJAS: C Raghu c Gowtham b Bhatkal 1, HT Sudhir Rao c&b Ninan 24, Shoaib Manager c Sanjay b Gowtham 6, Aditya Sagar (run out) 10, SP Manjunath c Avinash b Gowtham 1, Abrar Kazi (run out) 2, Chetan William (not out) 14, Harsha Basavaraj (not out) 1. Extras (LB-1, W-3, NB-1) 5. Total (for 6 wkts, 9.5 overs) 64.

Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-32, 3-42, 4-43, 5-43, 6-56.

Bowling: A Mithun 2-0-17-0, SL Akshay 1-0-13-0, Raju Bhatkal 2-0-6-1, KP Appanna 1.5-0-13-0, K Gowtham 2-0-11-2, Ryan Ninan 1-0-3-1.