Centre transfers 5 IAS officers

Centre transfers 5 IAS officers

Amid tussle between the Centre and Delhi government over the issue of shifting officials out of capital, union home ministry on Wednesday ordered transfer of five senior IAS officers attached with the city administration.

Those transfered included Directorate of Municipal Services Director R K Srivastava, Chief Electoral Officer Reena Roy, Labour Commissioner Ramesh Tiwari and Delhi Jal Board member Rinku Gugga, sources said.

The transfer orders came two days after chief minister Sheila Dikshit hardened her stand on the issue of transfer of 25 senior officials, saying her government would not release them untill equal number of replacements were provided by the home ministry.

Notice last week

The home ministry had last week issued show cause notices to the DANICS (Delhi, Andaman Nicobar Island Civil Services) officials to explain why they did not comply with its transfer order issued on May 29 asking them to join their new postings immediately.

Dikshit has been taking a strong position on the issue, saying there is a severe shortage of officials in Delhi government against the sanctioned strength and transfer of the huge number of officials will seriously affect governance. She had asked the chief secretary not to release any of the 25 officials.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)