Unique platform for racers and fans

Indian Festival of Speed at BIC this weekend

The inaugural Sidvin Indian Festival of Speed for cars, to held at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC), Greater Noida, on December 1 and 2, will witness different motor racing championships competing under one umbrella for the first time in India, offering a unique platform for fans and competitors alike.

The event aims to promote motor sports in the country and to give a big boost to domestic drivers. Sidvin has joined hands with Volkswagen, JK Tyre and MRF Tyres to organise the festival.

The FMSCI-JK Tyre National Racing Championship comprising the LGB Formula 4, Indian Touring Cars and the Indian Junior Touring Cars besides the JK Racing Asia Series, the second round of the MRF Challenge and the season finale of Volkswagen Polo R Cup championship will be held during the weekend.

“The aim of the event is to provide exposure to young Indian drivers and give them a feel of big-time racing. It’s a different proposition altogether and they will be richer for the experience,” said Mohan Nagarajan, CMD, Sidvin Core-Tech India Pvt Ltd, on Tuesday.

“We have plans to make it an annual affair. The event will help split the cost of hiring the BIC. A consolidated effort is needed to promote motor sport in the country. Top manufacturers are willing to provide cars at a subsidised rate for the competition,” added Mohan.

Around 125 drivers from India and abroad are expected to compete over two days, with the BIC coming alive to the sound of mean machines again after the Indian Grand Prix in October.

Promising Indian drivers such as Aswin Sundar, Parthiva Sureshwaren, Parth Ghorpade, INRC champion Gaurav Gill, current Formula2 champion Briton Luciano Bacheta, Jordan King and woman driver Alice Powell are among the drivers set to scorch the BIC.

“Being a part of the Sidvin Festival of Speed, the Volkswagen Motorsport are able to provide our drivers an opportunity to experience driving and racing at one of the finest circuits in the world along with JK Tyre and MRF Tyres. We are sure of offering the spectators a mega event,” said Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India.

The entry will be free with spectators needing to buy only complimentary passes. The event will also feature exhibition drives by Karun Chandhok, Narain Karthikeyan and Aditya Patel.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!