Srikakulam crushes Tirupathi, Davangere goes to 2nd round

South Zone Inter-university cricket matches begin in 7 grounds

Dr B R Ambedkar University, Srikakulam, humiliated SVIMS, Tirupathi, by a massive 213-run victory on the inaugural day of the South Zone Inter University Cricket Championship at NITK Ground-1, at Surathkal on Saturday. Yards away, on NITK Ground-2, Davangere University beat University of Agriculture Sciences, Bangalore, by 49 runs.

At NITK Ground-1, batting first after winning the toss, Srikakulam piled up 323 runs for the loss of 8 wickets, thanks to the three half centuries produced by their middle order batsmen. Abdul S K scored a quick 89 of 84 balls for the winners and was supported by Shekhar (69 of 89 balls) and S H Srinivas (66 of 56). In reply, all the Tirupathi batsmen marched back to the pavilion for just 110 in 30.2 over. Medium pacer Rajshekhar took 6 wickets for Srikakulam (7.2-0-23-6).

At NITK Ground-2, Davangere managed to creep into the second round with a 49-run victory of University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore. Sent to bat first, Davangere got all out for 197 in 46.4 overs. Praveen Kumar scored 37 runs. Even though fielded brilliantly, University of Agricultural Sciences were reduced to 148 in 42.1 over when it came for chasing. Davangere captain Sandeep’s plan to open the innings with Left arm spinner Karan M C brought the result on the very first ball as the opener Shashikumar played on for nought. Pacer Niranjan from the other end removed the three batsmen including skipper Prithviraj within three overs. Tail ender Arjun Shetty scored 52 of 69 balls for the Bangalore university.

Other results:

At Manipal University Ground 1: SCSVM, Kanchipuram batting first after winning the toss scored 179 in 46.4 overs and dismissed NIT, Warangal for just 67. SCSVM, Kanchipuram 179 (46.4):(V Satish Kumar 15, Rahul Raj 10, Ranjit 64, Madan Kumar 31. Pramod 6 for 41, Siddharth 2 for 30).NIT, Warangal 67 (Khaja 26 n.o., Rajan Thakur 12. K Surendar 4 for 30 and Vinoth 4 for 11.

JNTU, Anantpur; Adikavi Nannaya, Rajahmundry; Krishna, Machilipatnam and Christ University Bangalore got walkovers from Satyabama, Chennai; Satavahana, Karimnagar; BS Abdul Rahman University Chennai and Dr MGRE&RIU Chennai respectively. Sandeep 2 for 14).

Comments (+)