Malaysian juniors rout hapless Central Excise

PCTC register convincing 4-2 win over MLI
Last Updated 17 February 2013, 17:17 IST

The Malaysian junior team produced another dominating performance to outclass Central Excise 6-0 in their second Pool ‘B’ match of the Ozonegroup KSHA Super Division league (first phase) at the KSHA stadium on Sunday.

Dangerous Lee (59th, 65th) showed exactly how dangerous he is with two goals in the second half while Fitri Saari (3rd), Aqmal Gaffar (14th), Redzhwan Jaafar (16th) and Zulhairi Hashim (24th) contributed to the demolition job as they collected three points to take their tally to six from two matches.

The colts from the South East Asian nation toyed with the Central Excise defence in the first half. Saari struck the opening goal firing a shot running in from the centre of the circle to get the visitors going.

Central Excise struggled with their passing and keeping possession was made difficult by the Malaysians’ stifling defence. In the 14th minute, Gaffar drag-flicked a penalty corner to make it 2-0.

Two minutes later, Jaafar sounded the board off a Syamim Mohammad Yusuf pass from the right to take the Malaysian side 3-0 up.

Hashim, who had a good outing in the first match scoring a peach of a goal with his drag-flick, pounded goal number four in the 24th minute with a fluent penalty corner conversion which left the defenders watching all the way.

Central Excise went into the break with the intention of finding ways to counter the Malaysian onslaught.

The underdogs defended a lot better in the second session thwarting three penalty corners.

Central Excise had their first real chance of the match in the 55th minute when Nilesh got close with his pacy run through the right but his shot went a few metres off the far goalpost.

The Dangerous Lee show followed after that with his first goal in the 59th minute, a deflection off a Syamim pass, and the second in the 65th, a powerful shot inside the D that stunned the Central Excise defence.

DH News Service
Results: PCTC: 4 (Rajesh NS 15th; Kujur S 33rd; Sairaj Singh 41st; Kalyan K 59th) bt MLI: 2 (Ganesh Patil 6th; Kalyan Bhengra 43rd); Malaysian junior team: 6 (Fitri Saari 3rd; Aqmal Gaffar 14th; Redzhwan Jaafar 16th; Zulhairi Hashim 24th; Dangerous Lee 59th, 65th) bt Central Excise: 0.

(Published 17 February 2013, 17:17 IST)

Follow us on